Volant Air Intake System #19860

03-07 Ford 6.0L Powerstroke (with MAF Sensor)

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(16 Ratings, 8 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good Quality Intake
Dale (Sacramento) 6/16/2012 8:58 PM
My first impression of this system was that it was top notch (Looks great, Good quality and attention to detail). On my 2004 Power Stroke, I removed the factory intake and installed the Volant intake system in about 45 minutes. The installation instructions could use a few more details and pictures; but if it takes you more than 90 minutes to install, you probably shouldn't be working on your own truck. Two things: First, you will need a set of tamper resistant bits to remove the MAF screws on the factory intake. Secondly, you will need to relocate your engine compartment light since it will hit the ram air cover and keep the hood from closing properly (Relocation was no big deal). After installation, the turbo has a deeper growl, and sounds pretty healthy. "Feeling" performance increases is always subjective (unless you have the dyno to prove it), but I haven't really noticed any startling changes (I already had an SCT performance tune on my truck). I still haven't run a tank of diesel through it yet, so time will tell if I paid $250 for good sound or whether it'll also save me some money on fuel. I have high hopes.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Install
Tyler Collins (Newark, Ohio) 3/2/2012 11:29 PM
Great system, I have a 2007 F350 and on the 06,07 models they have a 1 piece tube off of the turbo and the volant system here is made for the 2 piece tube off of the turbo and in the instruction they don't tell you that you have to cut the new tube off just behind the MAS, and use the ford factory turbo tube to connect it all together, you do not use the volant rubber coupling at all, and the bolt holes on the intake housing need to be enlarged a little more to get it all lined up and bolted together and look clean. IT just would have been nice to know all this or if the people at volant would fix it before they send the produced out to the dealers and then out to the customers. Hope this is helpful to anyone that is having trouble with this produced.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Easy to install, quicker spool up
Chad (Omaha) 2/15/2011 5:28 PM
I installed on a 2003 6.0. Took 45 min and looks great!!Turbo spools up much faster. Have only had in a week so no mpg numbers yet, but can definetly notice an airflow improvment.Plus...I gt the $20 rebate!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
GREAT PRODUCT!!
Roughneck (Texas) 5/16/2010 5:48 PM
Took about a hour and a half to install. They sent every thing I needed to do the job. Turbo whistle is alot Louder than expected. Great Product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
No GPM increase
FTE (CT.) 11/25/2009 7:11 AM
Good product, makes the turbo louder with the 4" exhaust but more complicated to install than advertised. Didn't change my fuel consumption one bit.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Nice product, Tough install for an '06 F350
John (Greenville, SC) 10/2/2009 10:12 AM
Overall nice product, but installation on an 06 F350 was pretty bad. Installation instructions...forget about them cause there is none. Had to call the tech support number to find out that for my model you have to cut off the pipe just behind the MAF sensor, and you dont use the coupling that comes with kit, you must reuse the original Ford. After completing that task, found that the holes dont line up exactly in the housing and must be enlarged to bolt together. Next prob, they didnt allow enough clearance for the factory battery cover, so getting the lid on was really time consuming. Like the product, but the install was difficult. Also fo rmy model there were no instructions, only a schematic of the parts.
ratingratingratingratingrating
good price good intake
walter (portland oregon) 9/16/2009 5:48 PM
I had got this intake because it was on sale. I liked it quite a bit I was happy with the power increase and closed box keeps it much cleaner then my previous k&n system. The turbo whistle is more noticeable but I LIKE IT!!! Thanks XDP and thanks Volant for a good product!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Volant intake review
Anonymous (Unknown) 10/5/2007 7:20 PM
Overall installation was a little more difficult than Volant leads you to believe at least on my truck (06 f250 4x4). You have to remove the radiator fill tank and the battery tray needs to be loose to allow for clearence. The fuel economy gains of 1 - 4 mpg has not happened yet. I have run 3 tanks now and no change in fuel economy whether I drove normal or aggressive. However the increased throtle response and overall power is nice. There is also a little more turbo noise which is great.
page1