AFE Stage 2 Cold Air Intake System Type XP 54-10192

1999-2003 Ford 7.3L Powerstroke (Pickup & Excursion)

Customer Reviews - Include your order number for a chance to win a $100 GiftCard

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(79 Ratings, 18 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Product
Chance Steffens (Carlsbad, NM) 7/8/2013 4:59 PM
I had this installed along with an XDP compressor wheel and an Edge Juice with Attitude. Not sure how much the intake did by itself, but altogether it feels like I'm driving a totally different truck. Thanks aFe, my truck feels like new!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Not as good as expected
Bradford (New Braunfels, TX) 3/19/2013 9:58 PM
I have had other AFE intakes and have been very satisfied. This kit did not even come close to fitting properly. I had to relocate my brake proportioning valve below the intake. The cage hit it so it wouldn't sit down all the way. After I fixed that, I had to twist the whole metal cage to get the tube to line up. The tube flange and the cage are not at the same angle. I got it to line up, but it is in there under pressure. The holes for the bolts were too big and not enough washers were included, which would solve the problem. I had to get my own (not a huge problem.) The grommet didn't fit the holes properly. Also the grommet for the sensor didn't fit right. It is in there, but it is a round grommet for a sensor that normally twists and clicks in. I normally wouldn't complain if a product isn't exactly right but this did not seem like a normal AFE product, which is usually top notch. To end on a positive note, this intake brings in a lot more air. It cut down on my smoke and I can hear it sucking in air.
ratingratingratingratingrating
First mod for my 7.3
Don Ruff (Poulsbo, Washington) 1/3/2013 3:25 PM
I have to say the folks at XDP are extremely helpful. This is just one of the three items purchased from them. I wanted intake, exhaust and programmer for no more than a 1,000$ they helped me with it and came out to less then 850$. The AFE Stage 2 intake was the first to come in, installed it, no problems. Hardware was good, not outstanding, the only thing I would have liked to seen different would be the banding clamps for the boot would have been better quality band clamps, was a bit worried they might give way when tightening. The only thing that was pain to fit up with the metal box was the temp sensor. When the rubber grommet was in the hole the sensor would not fit properly. I had to modify the grommet and use some electrical tape to get it to stay in the specified location. Other than those two things the install was effortless, the quality is GREAT, and the truck has a much different sound, turbo response is much better, and there is a noticeable increase in power. Not a huge increase but definitely noticeable. I am excited and look forward to the other products getting here, which is today, the MBRP 4" turbo back, and the TS 6-way tuner stock, high-idle, 50hp, 75hp, 100hp, 140hp. This product is worth the price here at XDP. Again, I am looking forward to complimenting this intake with the other components that are coming. Thank You XDP, you have given me, what seems like a new truck. Don
ratingratingratingratingrating
Pretty good.
Brian Brown (Washington) 11/26/2012 11:14 PM
I try to be objective and critical when I review products- I want potential buyers to know what I wish I would have known when I was making a purchasing decision. Overall, this appears to be a decent product. There is definitely room for improvement. The fit is good, not great and certainly not excellent. I would think with the amount of time AFE has to design and manufacture something, the fit would be perfect- it's not. They should have designed the base to utilize the factory battery hold-down hardware; instead, they designed the ghetto-bar with two (but I only received one) 5/16x7.5" bolts. The plastic intake tube and silicone boot are not good quality. Actually, I don't think any of it is very good quality. The black box is about 18 ga sheet metal, in all, this product probably costs about $20 to make; if that. There is a huge difference in sound when the hood is open and the truck is idling. There is also a substantial volume difference vs stock inside the truck. I have no doubt that this thing has increased air flow. When the truck was idling, I could blow cigarette smoke and watch it be sucked into the filter. I would like to see better fit with the intake tube to the base, stainless hardware instead of junky, soft, plated, 14 or 12 ga powder coated instead of the thin hammered paint surface, tighter fit to the body of the truck, more accurate bends, a battery hold down that isn't ridiculous and an intake tube manufactured with the same material as factory. Oh! And there is no connection for the crank case vent. What is THAT about?! Shoddy design. The seal along the top is for show, there are lots of gaps and extra holes all over this piece so I imagine the weatherstrip on top is to prevent the box from ripping up the hood mat. If the seal lasts more than three years, I'll be surprised. They're getting a LOT of money for something of this level. I wish I would have gone with a different brand.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome!
Jordan (Northwest) 12/11/2011 2:12 AM
First upgrade to my 2000 7.3. Huge gains in power and the truck sounds alot better. Definitely worth the price! Thanks Xtreme and AFE!
ratingratingratingratingrating
7.3 F-350 4x4 Super Duty Dullie
Andre Ward (Aiken, SC) 10/17/2011 4:08 PM
Awsome product and well done AFE! I was having trouble deciding on which air-intake to go with. After speaking with a saleman at Xtreme Diesel, he told me that they sold more of AFE Air-Intake products. So far I love my decsion to go with AFE . I also have a SuperChip Cortex, MBRP 4" exhaust with high flow muffler. With the air intake addition the truck is super powerful and quick. Turbo really does whistle. I haven't check the mileage as of yet, only had for a week.
ratingratingratingratingrating
awesome stuff!
Jonathan (South Carolina) 9/11/2010 2:03 PM
man i did not know what to think of this when i was ordering it. heard a lot about but just wasnt sure. i have a tw chip and banks big hoss exhaust and i wanted more. so i went with this intake kit and man could u feel the power, dumps more smoke, picks up a lot quicker, the gas is touchy now i love it! havnet seen a big gain in mpg but i have only had it now for about a week...we'll see what happens. if i were recommending to a friend or a buyer get it! Jeremy here at xtreme helped me out with everything. great company!
ratingratingratingratingrating
03 f250 120k mlg.
Hank (florida) 6/3/2010 12:21 PM
i thing bad about this product is it sucks a lil water which causes the truck to die for a second then goes back to running thats during bad rain storms. otherwise it brought the truck to life and to the restraints of the engine from being choked so badly
ratingratingratingratingrating
2000 F250 150000mi
jas (Humboldt County) 10/20/2009 6:14 AM
This thing took 15 minutes to install after the 10 minute removal of the OEM equipment. 25 minutes and 450 bucks later, couldn't be happier. Throttle response is right now. No restrictions and your vacuum works for you. No more sluggo take offs. I also added a programmer and exhaust. More torque than I might ever use, other than rollen some coal once in a while. Great product
ratingratingratingratingrating
talk about torque
nate donohue (town of flordia, ny) 5/24/2009 9:52 PM
i am the owner of a pre 98 1/2 powerstroke and there were only 4 intakes for my truck anywhere from 400- 800$. i haul a 28 foot cattle trailer and this really helped my power and feul mileage i get 18 pulling the trailer and 23 bobtail. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMENED, and it only took 15 minutes to install thanks xdp
ratingratingratingratingrating
talk about torque
nate donohue (town of flordia, ny) 5/24/2009 9:52 PM
i am the owner of a pre 98 1/2 powerstroke and there were only 4 intakes for my truck anywhere from 400- 800$. i haul a 28 foot cattle trailer and this really helped my power and feul mileage i get 18 pulling the trailer and 23 bobtail. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMENED, and it only took 15 minutes to install thanks xpd
ratingratingratingratingrating
Its Good!!! (PG7)
Joe Phillip (TX) 2/13/2009 6:18 PM
I searched everywhere to find a great intake for my Platinum Edition and I finally found it here. Its easy to install and delivers great throttle response! It really gives the extra 50 horses it promises and makes the turbo whistle like hell with a throttle body spacer! Well worth the extra cash for the ProGuard7!
ratingratingratingratingrating
1999 7.3l crew cab, dually, stock
Joe (PA) 1/16/2009 7:39 AM
First, I was incredibly pleased with the shipping. I ordered the intake kit at 8:30 Thursday morning and UPS rang my doorbell at 9:15 Friday morning (Standard Shipping, one piece is still on back order but its only a dust cover). Now for the intake, simple to install would have only taken 20 mins. but I kept dropping my hardware in the fenderwell so after having to remove the whole thing twice it still only took 45 mins. I wouldn't say it has "seat of the pants" gains, but on a stock almost 6 ton dually, I noticed a significant difference in just getting this hunk of iron moving. Acceleration is much better, the engine seems to run smoother (even when stone cold), seems to be shifting a earlier and smoother, the turbo winds a little sooner and when giving it a little throttle you can definitely hear that thing whistle, drop the throttle and you hear a "whoosh" as the turbo winds down. The different noises can take a little getting used to if you forget that you put the intake in. It's hard to tell if I have improved fuel mileage yet I started with a full tank and have not had to top it off yet, plus I am like a little kid and I can't stop playing around, it is awesome to hear this thing scream. Mark me down as another satisfied customer. I probably would have bought this simply for the intimidation from the sound, even if only small amounts of perfomance were gained. If you have an older 7.3 you know what a pig these can be to get going from a stop, I would never trade mine for anything else, but it is nice to be able to get this thing moving, and fast. Will be buying diesel dual exhaust and possible a programmer in the future, thanks, Joe C.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Just one awesome intake
Daniel (Bristol , Tn.) 10/30/2008 5:01 PM
This an awesome intake for the 7.3L. It dave me nearly 4 miles to the gallon beter on the highway unloaded. Where it realy shined is when under a load almost 5 miles to the gallion while hauling a 6,500 pound 35 ft. goose neck trailer and one of my friends broke down 12 valve Dodge dually! (not picking on Dodge's of coarse)
ratingratingratingratingrating
its awesome
(Unknown) 5/21/2007 7:51 PM
This kit was easy to install and you can feel a difference. It is just awesome i highly recommend it
ratingratingratingratingrating
amazing!
Anonymous (Unknown) 3/11/2007 12:09 AM
i love the new intake system! not only am i running much lower egt's but the turbos wind up much quicker with the availability of more air. my '99 f-250 7.3 is now a monster, it not only looks great, sounds great, but performs when i need it to. as a soldier i take pride in maintaining my equipment and making it better, this product certainly does that!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Well Worth It!
Josh (Unknown) 11/14/2006 9:07 PM
The stage 2 (without pro-guard 7) was recently installed and WOW!! The throttle response and instant pick up is well noticed. Not to mention the incredible sound. I wish I would have gottn the Pro-guard because well, why not... The difference is well worth it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
It Delivers!
mueckster (Unknown) 10/25/2006 7:34 AM
I found this intake, with the Pro-Guard 7 filter, delivers big air as promised with no dusting of the turbo. I would recommend to also purchase the pre-filter sock to keep large debris, such as bugs, out of the pleats.
page1