Titan 7010201 52 Gallon Mid-Ship Replacement Tank

Titan 7010201 52 Gallon Mid-Ship Replacement Tank

2001-2010 GM 6.6L Duramax (CC-SB)

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(76 Ratings, 8 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Titan 52gal for 2008 GMC Sierra LMM
Bill (Elk Grove, CA) 12/20/2012 10:17 AM
This tank was a perfect fit for my 08 GMC. This was one of the best mod's I have done to this truck. This Titan is a must for towing your RV. The added fule range now is remarkable. All the OEM gauges work except the miles to empty on the on board computer. But thats not a problem since you doubled the fuel just double the miles til empty. I might add I've had this Titan in for 2 years now without any problems...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Excellent tank
TC (Arizona) 7/9/2011 1:53 PM
Excellent tank for the money. I installed it by myself in four hours on the weekend. Filled it up and drove to Texas and back to Arizona on 3 tanks instead of six with the OEM tank. I did have a slight leak at the sending unit that was fixed by taking the tank down and scraping out the groove for the o-ring. I reinstalled everything, verified everything was tight - AND NO LEAK! Filled it with 46 additional gallons of diesel and no leak to this day in 110 degree Arizona heat. Can't wait to pull my trailer to see how far I can go on one tank. Great job Titan! I would recommend obtaining a tank for your vehicle just to increase your driving distance after one fill up. AWESOME!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Titan fuel tank
Loran DeLong (Littleton, CO) 5/9/2011 9:33 PM
Installed the tank my self really easy, took about four hours. you do need fuel line tools, and make sure there are no sags in the vent hoses, or you wont be able to fuel fast, it will burp fuel at you. Looks good and you can't really see it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The Titan Tank
Mike W (Dallas, TX) 11/26/2010 12:30 AM
I purchased the tank and had the dealership put in on. Overall, I am very pleased with the tank. I was able to drive from Dallas, TX to Albert Lea, MN on one tank and still had fuel left over. If only I had a 52 gallon bladder! The only thing I would encourage people to do when getting this tank, is to clean out any plastic shavings that may be in the tank prior to install. I didn't do that (nor did the dealership) and ended up with a clogged fuel filter. Further, my 'low fuel' light comes on for me with 10 gallons still in the tank. The 'estimated range' in the dash is not accurate, and from what I am reading online, can not be fixed. But the fuel gage works properly and the added weight of the tank and fuel is hardly noticed. I added the tank in preparation for getting a 5th wheel as well as enhancing the suspension. Bottom line? I am happy with the tank. When I show it to my friends, I generally get, "Holy cow!"
ratingratingratingratingrating
Update to my install. GMC Dealer fed false information!
Don.K (Jensen Beach, FL) 12/10/2009 7:31 AM
As stated in my previous review that the local GMC dealer told me that re-programing of the on board computer [DIC] was possible.......He was WRONG. The service Tech upon taking my vehicle in informed me that this was not an option with the GMC up-link. Also that their was a warning not to change tire size and leave only the factory supplied size programmed. I am disappointed and upset of being fed false information by dealer. Titan's website has a link to a company that is currently working to produce an after market system to adapt the on board computer [DIC] for tank quanity, tire size, and choice of performance and economy settings for the GMC Newer Duramax's But the stock fuel gauge works fine and the on board computer navigation is only activated to search for fuel stations when the dash gauge low fuel warning light comes on. All except the estimated fuel range works fine. Sorry for mis-leading previous review concerning the re-programming.....should of waited until all was completed! Live and learn applies to this one! Still the replacement tank was easy to install and secure feeling with the extra capacity for emergency escapes if needed here in FLA or areas when truck camping have far and few stations.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Easy install on my GMC!!!!!
Don. K (Jensen Beach, FL) 11/26/2009 5:03 AM
Tank fit perfectly! No special tools needed for either fuel lines or electrical fuel level sensor. Fuel lines just have to pinch back tabs and push at same time to release line lock. Sensor connection has a little white plastic clip that you remove and connector is free to pull off. I used permatex # 2 non hardening form a gasket on all fittings except sending unit area. Note: With spring loaded sending unit, make sure you really tighten the bolts. I ordered with extra skid plate, which is well worth it for small price and protection. I did not use the front bracket rubber cushion as the proper fit of bracket was achieved. But made sure front bracket was supporting tank under the skid plate area. My vehicle is 2008 GMC 2500HD crew cab short bed. The stock fuel gauge in dash worked perfectly. Additionally, my local dealer is able to re-program my on-board computer [DIC] to reflect the larger fuel capacity. Not to mention bigger tires etc. for under $100.00 service charge. Having the Dealer performing this will not cause any voiding the existing warranty. Also I keep the driver side rear airbag a few pounds more in pressure to level out vehicle with full tank. This website was the best deal and not to mention the most professional. Does anyone need a replacement slightly used 26 gallon tank?
ratingratingratingratingrating
business owner
Don (Florida) 8/25/2009 8:19 PM
three bad tanks in a row , Titan was very helpfull and supportive , however when it was all said and done I went back to my oem tank and spent alot of money for nothing !
ratingratingratingratingrating
08 GMC Duramax w/ Titan 52 gal replacement
Mark Hvass (Porterville, CA) 3/31/2009 1:49 AM
This is a well made tank and fits the application well. The only negative is in the instruction for installing it. The 08 fuel lines do not need a special tool to remove as stated. They are simple clips that can be removed with a flat screw driver. When installing the one piece hanger, I advise using vise grips to hold the T shaped ends in place while bolting the other ends. To remove the sending unit wires slip the white plastic clip at the top out then use a small screwdriver to release the wire clip from inside the clip holder. This is similar to a Chinese box puzzle, be patient you will figure it out. If you have any questions XDP and Titan will be most helpful and supporting of your needs. They are great people to work with.
page1