ATS 2029013228 Ported Compressor Housing

99.5-03 Ford 7.3L Powerstroke

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(46 Ratings, 16 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Diesel Truck Enthusiast
Z. (Spencer) 1/15/2013 8:21 PM
Well, I love the product. My friend and I installed it in his garage. Though it was a little scary when the turbo wheel (X-Wheel) was bounding up at the start when trying to seal it up with the shaft everything turned out better than what I expected. The whistle was AWESOME! This is what I was grading the time and money on when I bought it. I took my friend who lives down the street from me and has a 2010 Super Duty 6.4 Twin Turbo. He started to roll down windows to hear the turbo. I advised him that there will be no need for that, you will hear all you need from the front. Daggum, it didn't disappoint either! He was very impressed with the sound and was wanting one for his, though I don't think they make for 6.4. Anyways, I love it and XDP was on time with the product. I'm getting the Mean Green alternator from them now. So, in conclusion if you want mega whistle, ATS plus x-wheel then after market intake and BOOM! You'll have it! I can't wait to tow! Thanks XDP!!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Not impressed
Brian Brown (Washington) 11/26/2012 10:55 PM
The workmanship of this housing is JUNK! JUNK! None of the castings have been smoothed- not even a little bit. The interior of the housing is as rough as 60 grit paper, where the molds come together, there is a massive seam and hollow empty shot creating large pits everywhere. The only surfaces that are acceptable are where they had to machine the o-ring seals, the bell around the impeller and the exterior for the intake tube. The paint is just that, paint- and not even good paint. It's not powder-coated like I was expecting. The ports aren't even clean, there are casting flags in all of the slots of the ports and on my particular shroud, there is a very thin spot along one of the sides were the casting didn't fill with aluminum. Terrible quality control. The quality of the OEM housing is FAR FAR superior to this piece and for the price, you're getting jacked hard-core. I have not towed with it yet so I can't speak on the performance, but, with what I see with the manufacturing, I'm not holding my breath. I'm hoping the other reviews on here are accurate and even if the workmanship is garbage, hopefully the performance will at least be what's expected. I cannot articulate how disappointed I am with the quality of this product. For ~$450, I was expecting a nice piece of machined aluminum that was going to add performace, aesthetics and value to my truck. I am literally embarrassed to have this chunk on my truck and I WILL NOT be showing it off to anyone. Garbage. It completely blows my mind that a company would put out a product this poor and charge this much for it. No shame at all. Boo-hiss on ATS and I'm disappointed in XDP for selling it. Install tip, don't tighten the 5 bolts unless you have your intake mounted- if you do, you're probably going to have to loosen them to get your intake to mount up. Also, if you have the ATS shroud and you get an AFE stage 2, you're going to need a 4" ABS sewer pipe coupler to connect them.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Diesel Mechanic
Sean (washington) 5/22/2012 7:30 PM
Great product bought it for my 2000 F-350 with a 6 speed eliminated all the turbo surge, i wouldn't waste your money on wastegate controllers or the wicked wheel's this will fix it right the first time.(wish i went this way the first time). I have installed these on three other trucks with the same results absolutly no surge on any performance settings. Stick or auto this is the product your looking for hands down.
ratingratingratingratingrating
AAAAA++++
Joe Delfino (Newington, CT) 2/28/2012 8:27 PM
Does everything it says it does, Great sound to it. Install was a little tought for me because i did not have the right tools but was able to manage. If you got the right stuff install will be a breeze. Great product, Highly recommended! Thnx XDP.
ratingratingratingratingrating
AWSOME!!!!
Jeff (Arkansas) 9/18/2011 8:26 PM
99.5 F-250 Powerstroke 4x4 with 334,000 miles. I installed the ATS housing and XDP compressr wheel the whistle is incredibly loud and the turbo spools up alot faster. Costumer service was awsome and install took a little longer because I did mine in a barn and did not have an impact wrench so I had to pool the whole turbo off to get the stock wheel off. If you have a impact wrench install will be very easy and should only take about 2 hours. Thanks XDP awsome product best sounding 600$ ever spent.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Big Whistle
Chad (Tucson, AZ) 6/18/2011 10:20 PM
My 7.3L Excursion has upgraded exhaust, tuning, and intake which combined into a horrible turbo surge when it shifts between gears. I installed both the ATS ported shroud and the X-Wheel compressor wheel at the same time. Though these products may not give you much added HP, you definitely will feel a difference in acceleration by eleiminating the surge between gears. I knew there would be a whistle with these products, but it is much louder than I expected...sounds like a jet. It was a bit annoying at first but now I'm used to it and kinda like it. I also recommend having the turbo rebuilt at the same time. Mine had a ton of carbon builup which got into the bearing when removing the old compressor wheel...big mess! (obviously this won't be a problem if you only change the housing).
ratingratingratingratingrating
shroud
adam (colorado) 4/1/2011 4:23 AM
Awesome product love the whistle and I don't lose my boost when I'm pulling heavy loads
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Product
Matt Dunaway (Kentucky) 3/17/2011 6:52 PM
This is an awesome product, Great performance, easy to install. Massive low end and Mid-Range power gains. Installed without even taking turbo off of truck. Would recommend to anyone.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Military
Chuck (Oregon) 12/19/2010 1:06 PM
This product is great. I had very bad turbo surge prior to installing this product. Know I have an awesome whistle and great turbo response. And no more turbo surge. I would recomend this product to any 7.3 powerstroke owner. It is great.
ratingratingratingratingrating
question
jacob (memphis, tn) 12/17/2010 9:14 PM
will this housing fit an early 99'?
ratingratingratingratingrating
horse shoer
cole (eden utah) 2/21/2010 8:14 PM
i put this on my truck after i done 4" pipe from turbo out and cold air intake the turbosurge was way bade this housing took care of that problem. and i did not think that the mods done before this helped on egt. till i put the housing on thin there was a pretty good chang in cooler egt.power wise i cant tell other than i can run my chip on hi settings and egt are about 200deg cooler
ratingratingratingratingrating
I love it
Jason (Albuquerque nm) 6/1/2009 10:40 PM
The ats shroud was the best upgrade, I have the banks exhaust hosing, actuator and wheel I felt no difference as of "quicker spool" cause I notice a bad turbo lag when shifting from 2-3 and the ats shroud took care of it I was about buy a new truck cause of that lag p.s a wicked whistle very very loud really cool
ratingratingratingratingrating
A&E Contracting
Adam (West Paterson , NJ) 4/1/2009 8:33 PM
I Upgraged To A Turbo Back 4 Inch Exhaust, And You Can Here The Compresser Surge Very Loud . I Could Not Stand The Surge Sound Any More ! I Bought The ATS Ported Shroud Compressor Housing From ( XDP ) And Installed It My Self In 1 1/2 Hour Install. The Compresser Surge , No More ! Also I Notice The Turbo Sound A Little More Louder , Nice Sound !! My Friends Love The New Sound , Thankyou XDP Five Stars !!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
NO MORE SURGE !!!!!!
Anonymous (Unknown) 5/1/2007 2:05 AM
My super duty was all fixed up with exhaust, programer, gauges but it was lacking one thing, since i have the man trans i would surge at 1500-2200 almost all of the time and i was starting to think that there would be no cure. but then i found the compressor shroud and it WORKS.. no more surge, i can jump on the throttle and poor black smoke every where and no surge or lag at all. it also made hauling the trailers alot better.. best upgrade i have ever done!
ratingratingratingratingrating
It Works!
mueckster (Unknown) 10/25/2006 7:41 AM
While pulling my fifth wheel, I encountered turbo compressor surge. The ATS housing completely eliminated this problem. The whistle, it creates, is also a nice side effect.
ratingratingratingratingrating
ATS Ported Housing
BGGreenBeast (Unknown) 10/24/2006 1:41 PM
When towing my 5th wheel across country, including some good-sized grades in New Mexico, I started hearing a "new" noise from the engine. A quick post on The Diesel Stop (r) gave me the answer. ATS Ported Housing! I ordered one and have been very pleased with the performance. The engine is more responsive and accelerates smoother. This was the last mod I put on it (4" MBRP exhause, Edge Juice w/Attitude, Edge Evolution, AFE intake w/torque tube), and it really made all the rest work better.
page1