MBRP Direct-Replacement Muffler MK96116

2004.5-2007 Dodge 5.9L Cummins

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(47 Ratings, 9 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect
Scott (Colorado) 12/13/2013 6:09 PM
I ordered up this muffler kit at a good price and it arrived on my door step 2 and a half days later. Installed in 1 hour on my 2007 Ram 5.9. Sound is perfect. It just adds a little low end growl and is not loud. It woke my truck right up. I cant say anything about any mileage gains because Im having to much fun with the skinny pedal. I did also have to cut about 4 inches off the factory tail pipe and one of the hangers doesn't match up but I bent it to work. Good Looks, Great Sound, Fast shipping. easy install.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Complete Kit and Nice Product
Slim (Central Virginia) 5/25/2012 11:05 PM
I previously tried to put a competitor's muffler and their offset pipe on my 2005 Ram. Their kit did not include hangars or clamps, and the offset pipe was aluminized (with a 304 stainless muffler?). THIS kit is awesome! It is complete, with properly positioned hangars, a stainless offset pipe, and even includes clamps! It took far longer to pull off the old muffler than it did to put this one on. Sounds great, lets the engine breathe a bit, and was the fastest 25 lb weight loss I've had in years! Highly recommended.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Horseshoer
Dusty (Montana) 11/25/2011 2:59 PM
Very impressed with muffler. I have a 2005 Dodge 3500. Installation was as easy as remove stock muffler and put new one in. I did have to remove aprox. 4 inches of tailpipe but that was the only modification needed. It has great low tone and a noticeable power improvement. I installed a cold air intake at the same time to help open the engine up and I'm totally impressed with the combination.
ratingratingratingratingrating
truck driver
Leon (Oregon) 9/23/2011 7:21 PM
installed on an early 2007 dodge 2500 4x4 It took about 1 hour had to cut 3" to 4" off the org. exhaust pipe. The only think I had to do was heat the front hanger and bend it up about 1" so the pipe was closer to the frame. Sounds good. Like the fast service. will order again.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Muffler
Alan (PA) 4/6/2011 3:03 PM
This muffler has one hell of a good sound. It was fairly easy to install on my dually other than I did have to remove about 4 inches of tail pipe. Other than that I am very satisfied.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best option for functional performance
John West (Forest, VA) 1/5/2011 6:57 PM
This kit was installed on a 2005 RAM 2500 4x4 quad cab, with a NV5600 6 speed. The installation took about 2.5 to 3 hours, this included my welding the muffler in place(not required). I used a sawzaw to cut the old muffler and pipe out. If you take the time to measure the new parts well you can make 2 cuts and put it all in place. In my case; the rear cut was about 3" to 4" past the original muffler flange out on the tailpipe. The front cut was in front of the front muffler flange. Basically; you do not need to remove the stock muffler clamps because this will be cut off and thrown away. I did not have to cut the new pipe or muffler at all. Everything lined up great without any directions. (it can only go one way to fit the factory mount location) Once installed; the sound and current performance is better than I expected. It just has a slightly deeper tone than stock. I do not race my truck, I drive it an tow with it. I have not pulled my trailer yet, but the low end power is noticably smoother. (I do have an edge module & attitude, and K&N filter in stock airbox) I have not filled the truck back up with fuel yet, But the overhead is showing a solid 2-3 MPG better than before. I don't take the actual numbers to seriously, but the change I believe is noticable. So; You get a nice sound, that you can drive every day without any annoying droaning sound, More/smoother low end power, noticable better gas milage and loosing about 50+ lb's of dead weight. This muffler kit is worth Every Penny! ; West
ratingratingratingratingrating
2005 ram 3500
dale (dwisconsin) 3/23/2010 9:31 PM
great direct fit muffler for the money-has good tone,not to loud and no drone-hangers fit good ,only needed to shorten tailpipe slightly for hanger to line up properly
ratingratingratingratingrating
2006, 2500 Ram Quad Cab Install
Ronnie Ross (Hot Springs, AR) 2/15/2010 11:13 PM
The muffler quality is excellent. Exhaust note is a good low tone and sounds stock until throttle is given. I can tell (hear) the turbo is spinning more freely due to less back pressure. Now for the install, you will need to modify your exhaust to get the proper fit. It is not a simple bolt on, then again it does not list the '06 in the description. I am pleased with the results and price!!! I recommend this upgrade to anyone not wanting to do a full or cat back system while saving some money. XDP has excellent service in shipping, email and phone. Thanks XDP from another satisfied customer.
ratingratingratingratingrating
None
Mark (Washington) 12/14/2009 2:01 PM
Bought this muffler assembly to replace the stock one on my 2005 Ram 3500 dually. It took less than an hour to install, the fit of the hangers was excellent and it included clamps that worked well. Hardest part was cutting off the old muffler. A recip saw or die grinder works well enough to get it done. This is a nice high flow upgrade over the origional. The best part is the sound... it has a very low frequency tone, sounds a lot like a V-8 with glass packs - it is fairly quiet at low throttle, but you definately know it's there when you get on it. It also adds a small amount of turbo whine out the back. 2 thumbs up.
page1