Xtreme Diesel's X-Wheel Compressor Wheel

Xtreme Diesel's X-Wheel Compressor Wheel

99.5-03 Ford 7.3L Powerstroke

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(160 Ratings, 38 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best, cheapest upgrade yet
Dustin Merry (Arizona City, AZ) 2/23/2014 12:42 PM
My truck was low on power and already had a muffler delete and k&n drop in. Original wheel was toast, just flat out worn out. Replaced the and she runs as good as new and in about an hour and a halfs work.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Cheap solution to surge and add more turbo noise
Eugene (Battle Ground) 1/10/2014 9:41 PM
Bought this after MBRP turbo back exhaust and S&B intake system installed. This wheel for sure does what it says - takes care of the surge. Also it adds a slight freight-liner effect but not as much as I have expected which wasn't my goal anyways. Install is pretty complicated if the right tools and knowledge are not available. I was a VW tech for 3 years so that helped. I recommend taking off the turbo to replace the wheel it's around 4 extra bolts to undo and it will make your day. By taking off the turbo it makes it easier to work with it on bench and to inspect it. Also you might find out that you exhaust flange donut gaskets are leaking at the "Y" that bolt to the turbo as I found out. Overall great product for great price.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love it!
Chance Steffens (Carlsbad, NM) 7/8/2013 5:24 PM
Got this installed at the same time as an aFe Stage 2 CAI and Edge Juice with Attitude. Absolutely love it! Almost no turbo lag when you get on the gas. In addition to the CAI you can really hear the turbo whistle. I highly recommend this product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
bang bang
brian (home) 5/15/2013 11:42 AM
this product is defeinlty great just woried abourt to much turbo psi and it lifting the head of the block
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome product!!!
David (Romeo, Michigan) 11/19/2012 2:23 AM
i Bought this X-Wheel about 7 or 8 months ago and took about 5 hrs to install (i was 19 and new to diesels) and couldnt find a socket that would fit, metric and standard would not fit, but got it on after some ingenuity and WOW, i must say it sounds AMAZING, i push roughly 29-30 psi at WOT, i have stage 1 injectors, stage 1 stealth HPOP, john wood 4100 Valve Body, k&N intake, DP-Tuner Tunning, MBRP 5" exhaust, and i was getting Turbo surge BAD! slapped it on and its gone, i must say this product was WELL worth the money.
ratingratingratingratingrating
powerstroke owner
Gordon (anchorage,ak) 7/15/2012 3:37 PM
Just installed wheel in my 2000 F-350 powerstroke along with ats ported shroud. Eliminated compressor surge completly,accel responce is very noticeable. nosie is deffinetly louder and higher pitch(sounds pretty cool).Install was a little difficult, I recommened removing turbo for install, do to being able to see what your doing and not trying to loosen fasteners at wierd angles. All together a good product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great increase in acceleration
Clifford (Tulsa) 3/25/2012 5:50 PM
I purchased the compressor wheel along with the Banks big head wastegate and it made a big difference and sounds amazing with my 4inch turbo back exhaust. I can keep up with my buddy's 6.0 powerstroke pretty easy now. I would recommend to do both wheel and wastegate at the same time takes about 1hr. Install
ratingratingratingratingrating
Carpenter and self employed sawmill owner/operator
Don Lester (Illinois) 3/7/2012 11:01 PM
I had been doing alot of reading and studying about these different compressor wheels and what you will benefit by installing one. I finally decided to try it, I just finished the install a few hours ago so all I've had time to do is take a short test run to make sure everything is tight and no leaks. WOW!! The driveability is like night and day. I installed a new full 4" exhaust at the same time, but the truck accelerates so much smoother that it seems silly that I waited so long to buy this product. The install is considerably more difficult than i was anticipating, definitely remove the turbo though. Although XDP done a great job with designing this wheel maybe revise the install directions to take the turbo off. I don't know how you would ever get the bolts out of the EBPV with it on the truck. Overall though a great product and I know several 7.3 guys that I am going to recommend this part to. Thanks guys for building a great part and making my 'ole truck feel new again!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Fixed my compressor surge
Rob (Omaha, NE) 2/18/2012 5:47 PM
For anyone who is having doubts about this product I just wanted to write and say it works as advertised. When I got rid of my muffler I started experiencing turbo surge. I couldn't decide if I should buy a ported housing or an aftermarket wheel but finally decided on the wheel. This wheel was easy to install thanks to my neighbor who had the air tools and nice drive way to work in ;) I highly recommend this product if you have compressor surge. Once we got everything tightened back up we took it on the interstate and the tested it out. No surge at all. In fact, the throttle response was much much better and it caused the turbo to spool up extra quick making the gear shifts even faster. I know that if I put my truck on a dyno I would see no HP increase and no Torque increase. This part will make it feel like you put in more hp or torque. I am completely satisfied and I am sure you will be too, if you are trying to get rid of compressor surge. The whistle volume didn't increase as much as I had hoped it would but the pitch of the whistle is higher and more noticeable. Thanks XDP!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Not what I was expecting, but still pretty good
Sam Alexander (Daytona Beach, Fl) 10/23/2011 10:39 AM
I bought this product to eliminate the turbo surge I acquired with my Tony Wildman chip, and the product did what it claims, it eliminated it almost completely. Installation was fairly simple and straightforward, although the directions that XDP provided were almost useless in my opinion. I was looking forward to this insane whistle that so many claim they have with this intake wheel but I didn't see much of an increase if any at all. Inside the cab it is louder, but outside the cab it the truck seems to whistle the same. I have a DIY intake, and i've read that different intakes make it sound different, so maybe it is my intake, but either way the product works, and you'll be happy with it. I gave it 4 stars because the high pitch whine it makes is kind of annoying at first, but you get used to it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
It's an improvement
MustangMan6799 (Kennewick, WA) 10/11/2011 12:54 PM
I upgraded my exhaust with a Banks Monster Exhaust kit including power elbow. FYI, the power elbow eliminates the Exhaust Back Pressure Valve (EBPV Delete mod). After installing the Banks exhaust, I had a mild turbo surge and flutter. I then installed a DP-Tuner F5 16-position chip. The installation of the chip made the surge and flutter so prominent and excessive that I could no longer accelerate travelling uphill. While I experienced incredible gains with horsepower, the overall "streetability" of my pickup decreased, so I returned the tuner. I installed the wheel to help with the remaining surge. I have read quite a bit about this compressor wheel. It is recommended that you remove the turbo for installation and do not use an impact for removal of your old compressor wheel or installation of the new wheel. This can damage the shaft the wheel mounts to. This is the same wheel as the "wicked wheel" and goes by several other name. So far, XDP is, by far, the most cost effective place I have found to purchase this product. After installation, I noticed that my pickup accelerates more smoothly. Prior to installation, normal acceleration was a but more chunky. The throttle now has a more solid feel, though, a very minor difference from the stock wheel. My turbo surge was greatly reduced but not entirely eliminated. I have not had it installed long enough to check mileage but I suspect it will not change as everything I have read states it will not increase nor decrease performance of any kind. As far as sound goes, there is a nice little whirr from the wheel. It doesn't sound like a jet engine as others have claimed- unless my pickup is, for some reason, atypical. If you're replacing the wheel, take the turbo off. It's not much more work and it will give you the opportunity to replace the pedestal o-rings that often leak. I know mine were and I'm glad I went to the extra effort.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Big Whistle
Chad (Tucson, AZ) 6/18/2011 10:26 PM
My 7.3L Excursion has upgraded exhaust, tuning, and intake which combined into a horrible turbo surge when it shifts between gears. I installed both the ATS ported shroud and the X-Wheel compressor wheel at the same time. Though these products may not give you much added HP, you definitely will feel a difference in acceleration by eleiminating the surge between gears. I knew there would be a whistle with these products, but it is much louder than I expected...sounds like a jet. It was a bit annoying at first but now I'm used to it and kinda like it. Surge is GONE! ...even when pulling a heavy load. I also recommend having the turbo rebuilt at the same time. Mine had a ton of carbon builup which got into the bearing when removing the old compressor wheel...big mess! (obviously this won't be a problem if you only change the housing). If you do it yourself, do not follow the instructions of others on-line who do not remove the turbo (i.e. spinning it off with an impact wrench). Take the extra half hour to pull the turbo off it really isn't that hard. It is also a good time to do the EBPV delete mod while it is off too.
ratingratingratingratingrating
semi skilled mechanic
Matt (Bechtelsville Pa) 5/20/2011 11:43 PM
I had a bad surge happening 1800-2000 rpm you could hear the turbo flutter while pulling my boat. This fixed the surging issue and I do have a slightly better MPG. I am not a hardcore mechanic but was able to do this with a little help from a friend who helped get the turbo out. The worst part is getting turbo out. Make sure you have plenty of time and the right tools before you start. Look online and print a copy from Garret for turbo removal. Pictures make this an easy job to follow. Did have issue with threads on the wheel. I tapped them out and all is good.
ratingratingratingratingrating
bad ass farm truck
Craig (Ohio) 5/17/2011 5:29 PM
02 F250 crew 7.3 stroker.E4OD. bought the wicked wheel from xdp. was back ordered but recieved it in about ten days. had it installed by a diesel shop. i usually do everything myself but a compressor wheel requires inch lbs and i wanted no problems. running edge evolution, K&N cold air intake 4 inch down pipe epanded to 6 inch chrome stacks mounted undeneath out the back, with no muffler. was getting 12 to 14 mpg before and now 16.5 mpg by the way 6 inch BD lift and 35x16.5 tires. mechanical pillar boost guage went from 20psi boost to 25psi response is better from the line edge evolution boost guage went from 12psi to 14psi. been told faulty map sensor reason edge not reading right boost really recomend wicked wheel for 7.3 very low cost upgrade
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Product
Joel (pa) 5/4/2011 8:56 PM
I bought this wheel about 2-3yrs ago because I had a horrible noise with all the noise when I put my new air intake on my 2000 F350. I put the wheel in and took care of 90percent of the noise. Would recommend to anyone.
ratingratingratingratingrating
great wheel but small problem
grant (arizona) 2/27/2011 12:08 AM
i have bought 2 of these and both have had something wrong with the threads making it very difficult to get on. other than that it works great
ratingratingratingratingrating
ase certified diesel tech
david smith (springhill fl) 2/21/2011 4:56 PM
excellent product and great sound. nwent from 21-23lbs of boost gauge pressure to a incredible 29-32lbs for an increase of 8lbs over stock would reccomend to anyone who would like some easy cheap power and performance. Thanks XDP
ratingratingratingratingrating
Turbo Wheel
Loic (Bonney Lake, wa) 7/22/2010 12:15 PM
I got the turbo wheel compresser for my 99 f350 7.3 and putting it in was work. Me and a buddy took about 5hrs to put it in, not to hard but some of the bolts were hard to get to if you don't have the right tools. I started my truck after I done and I didn't really notice a big change yet. I didn't heard that new turbo sound, but I'm getting a 5" Exhaust Systems next and I hope that opens everything up. Take the time to do everything right, you do not want to mess up the turbo. My truck has 165500 miles on it and I thought it was time to add a new wheel to it.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Owner Bull Dog Electric
Eric (Santa Rosa Ca) 5/18/2010 11:06 AM
XDP shipped out the new wheel in about 10 days they where out of stock, I think that is why it took so long. I decided to change out the wheel on my own after watching some videos on the net of how to do it, big mistake. I dont know if my turbo was going out when I got in there or if I caused it but it started to rub on the housing. I pulled the turbo and got it rebuilt...$700.00 dollars later I have a rebuilt turbo with my new wheel. It doesnt look that hard but there is more to it than you think. Also now I have a leak and I'm only building 10 pounds of boost, long story but just have the pro's do it and you will be very happy and wont have to go through all the stuff I'am. Oh by the way for how much I have spent getting this $80.00 part in my truck by doing it my self(and causing problems), I could have bought a tunner, and full exhaust, not to metion the lost $ from not working since it is on my work truck. Take it to a shop and have them do it, but I do like it. Ford 2001 F-450 crew cab 9' work bed..."the beast"
ratingratingratingratingrating
.
mike (california) 5/17/2010 2:46 PM
great product for the money, it completly eliminated my turbo surge and increased the whistle. i very happy with the results.
ratingratingratingratingrating
mr.
rodney h (pennsylvania) 3/26/2010 6:50 AM
great product,great price, easy install! changed it out in my driveway in a snap. i was hoping for a little more noise but since it cured my boost surging i can live with the little it gave me.
ratingratingratingratingrating
NO SURGE GREAT WHISTLE
JEFF BRIGGS (SAN LUIS OBISO CA) 3/24/2010 4:09 PM
i have a 2000 superduty lift with large tires. and i was getting turbo surge all the time even when i was not towing any thing. the new compressor wheel completely got rid of the surge and sounded awesome. and made the truck pull harder and faster. i have recomended it to every one i know that has a superduty. i truly believe its a great product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
x-wheel compressor experience
Derick Sprigler (Southern IN) 3/7/2010 10:12 PM
The high boost compressor wheel was well worth my money, it completely eliminated the turbo surge that i had ocurring. It also added a distinct turbo whistle that puts me above the other powerstrokes.
ratingratingratingratingrating
installation tip
Brad (Sardis City, AL) 2/12/2010 3:34 PM
no need to remove the whole turbo just the compressor housing and i read that someone had trouble removing the bottom bolt. It is very hard to get to almost impossible so remove the driver's side valve cover and you can get right to it. This should reduce install time greatly.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Worth the money
Keith (Fallon, NV) 10/26/2009 11:58 AM
This wheel didnt get rid of the compressor surge completely. But it did dramatically reduce the surge. I has a lot more whistle and it sounds awesome! Removing the turbo will have taken a lot more time then just removing the compressor housing. This is a great product and it is well worth the money
page12