Bully Dog Triple Dog GT Diesel Downloader 40420

Bully Dog Triple Dog GT Diesel Downloader 40420

99-14 7.3L/6.0L/6.4L/6.7L Powerstroke | 01-14 6.6L Duramax | 03-14 5.9L/6.7L Cummins*

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(961 Ratings, 29 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
dissatified
kevin dunbar (United States) 9/4/2013 10:03 PM
i put bully dog gt on my 6.7 dodge cummins for more mpg instead, of gaining mpg i lost 1 mile per gallon i went from 17.5 to 16.5, that is with very conservative driving,however i did notice improved power which i did not need, dont waste your money!!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great product
Hambone (Northern Michigan) 4/11/2013 12:01 PM
I use this on My 06 Dodge ram 2500 SLT 4X4. Have no idea why anyone would crap on this product. I have run this for over a year and have had no issues. Along with an exhaust and air intake, running in performance tune i get 20-21 mpg in town and 23-25 highway empty, also 16 mpg when pulling my fifth wheel..... Thanks Bully Dog!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Forget it
Andy (Idaho) 3/19/2013 5:42 PM
Had it on my 06 5.9L Mega. Had issues with it in the winter. Got stuck on the "initializing communication" screen. Had to send it back to have it fixed. Got it back about a week later and ran ok for two months before it started causing problems again. About two months after that I had to replace my tranny (I don't mash the pedal either). The shop I take my truck to said they are known to make your motor run very hot. No joke every time I drive up a steep hill I have to turn to the tune down to stock because the EGT's and motor temps are waaaay too hot and the tuner defuels every time. My shop recommended the Edge. On top of that mt Bully Dog EGT probe and sensor module crapped out on me. Needless to say I'm going to the Edge. I wouldn't buy this. I also had one for my 06 Mega with the Hemi and it didn't improve gas mileage at all. Very dissapointed with BullyDog. I would not recommend getting any of their products.
ratingratingratingratingrating
2001 7.3
Bryan (Florida) 1/31/2013 12:55 AM
I ve tried three different programmers for my 7.3, Superchips, SCT and Bully Dog and by far hands down Bully Dog is a must buy. I went from 14.5 mpg stock with 37's to 16 with SCT and Superchips. Then with the easy installation of Bully Dog i went to 18 MPG, the driving coach can get annoying but it does help with fuel savings. on top of everything its on the fly and i can use it in just about everyother diesel truck.
ratingratingratingratingrating
love it
bigbuck1116 (texas) 12/5/2012 11:17 AM
i put this one and i love it it does not put the tune on tell the truck is warm so you dont hurt your truck this was a great buy would buy again
ratingratingratingratingrating
7.3 powerstroke
dakota (texas) 12/2/2012 4:42 PM
i put the bully dog on my truck and right away already had trouble. all this product does for my 2003 is make it smoke. besides that its a waste. i had it on there for a week and i already sold it. this is not good for a 7.3
ratingratingratingratingrating
Hauler
Tim Baxter (Florida) 11/12/2012 8:52 PM
I highly recommend this product, I had some questions and called in to tech and Wow best tech service ever they were patient with me and stayed on for the whole update, just downloaded it and worked perfect. The fuel mileage was INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Enthusiast
James cot learn (Utah) 11/11/2012 7:54 PM
wow unbelievable product almost didn't buy it because of a few reviews now that I have it realized that if you actually read the owners manual u find u can adjust the safety defuel to your own preference maybe they should read manual before giving a false review. Awesome power and fuel mileage!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Self
Jon Vanwey (Littlefield Tx) 10/29/2012 8:51 AM
Do not buy this product. It is hard to update, will leave you stranded and no one to help. Bully dog is not open on weekends and they do not have an after hours number. I had problems on a Saturday and was stranded until Monday. I got the big rig department to answer on Saturday morning and since mine was a pickup they wouldn't help and left me hanging. Xtreme at least answered the phone but they do not have any technical ability, they tried. I realize none of the products are 100 percent foolproof so look for one with a support team. Once again DO NOT BUY BULLY DOG PRODUCTS!
ratingratingratingratingrating
NOT worth it
shawn (USA) 9/18/2012 7:14 PM
I recently had to return this unit because it locked up while I was down loading an update. I finally got the unit back from Bullydog and went to install it in my truck and the unit would not allow me to down load the up dated program to my truck. After multiple calls and Bully Dog unable to fix the issue and refusing to replace the unit, I gave up. Im going with Six Gun. Do not buy anything Bullydog.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Ford F-450
Lanny (Hensley) 7/14/2012 5:34 PM
recently transitioned from a Power Pup to the GT Tuner. I'm very disappointed (understatement) with this new tuner. My Power Pup allowed me to calibrate the speedometer of the truck and change shift points in the transmission. It also did not defuel the truck unexpectedly while going uphill during normal highway use. Guess what...I NEVER had any problems. Unfortunately I sold my Power Pup before I mistakenly thought I was upgrading to the GT or I would have returned it. On the packaging (where it says "what can it do?*") for the GT it advertises that I could still calibrate the speedometer and change shift points. And- it does not mention anything about unexpectedly cutting off power while climing hills, on the highway, EMPTY! Shame on me for automatically assuming it would be an improvement over the Power Pup (and still capable of performing the same functions) and not bothering to get out the magnifying glass to read the VERY TINY disclosure at the VERY BOTTOM of the package that advised "features may vary". Especially since I bought it online. WHAT A SCAM! As for the "driving coach" feature...what an annoying pain in the ass! If I wanted something chirping/beeping/ telling me how to drive- I'd put my mother-in-law in the truck with me. Chances are if someone knows enough to put a tuner in their truck, they're probably smart enough to know how to drive it. Less fuel savings than Power Pup, more expensive knick-knacks that you don't really need. Not worth the money.
ratingratingratingratingrating
GT review for 12 Dodge 6.7 Cummins
Jeff (Smith) 4/15/2012 8:46 AM
After 6 weeks of attempted use, I give this two stars. After three different sd cards, one return to bullydog for repair and many phone calls, it does provide a power boost when working. Screen locks up at least once a day requiring unplugging from usd port to reset. Many advertised functions are not available such as exhuast regeneration and tire size spedometer calibration. Bullydog says there "working" on a fix. It was cheaper than other brands and you get what you pay for! Would not recomment! 2nd bullydog tuner purchased and I have learned my lesson.
ratingratingratingratingrating
It works!
Jason ( NC) 4/6/2012 10:42 PM
I've had my 6.0 powerstroke F350 for 6 years. I finally woke her up today after installing this unit. It's a completely different truck now.
ratingratingratingratingrating
pros and cons
scott schreiber (ontario, NY) 1/10/2012 10:22 PM
i have a 06 ram 5.9 2500 5in mbrp straight brute force intake couple of other things i got the gt so i could have more options and because it wasnt the biggest hp gain (so i didnt use it and blow it up) great power out of it. love the heads up display totally woke up the truck. now the bad part i can push 40 psi and i had to put a boost fooler on to keep from throwing engine codes for over boost. so now my boost gauge on the gt is no good also it has froze on me a few times but i just unplug it and its fine. the OBDII port is very close to my clutch and E brake a have kicked it a few times on accident. all in all i like it just had to add a boost gauge and a boost fooler. btw installed it in under 30 min and is very easy to use
ratingratingratingratingrating
New Diesel enthusiast
Brian Harston (Illinois) 12/21/2011 11:01 AM
My name is Brian Harston and I recently ordered and installed the AFE Stage II sealed cold air intake and the Bully Dog Triple Dog GT tuner and have experienced tremendous power gains (0-60 mph in 7.5 seconds with EGR and DPF still in place) and I now average 18-19mpg compared to the 10-11mpg I was experiencing prior to installation of the two aformentioned products. Note, the power and economy numbers are being realized on a lifted (5") F-350 DRW Lariat FX4 crew cab with 35" Nitto Trail Grappler MT's and a curb weight of approximately 9000lbs. To me those are some pretty awesome numbers right out of the box while staying legal and maintaining my warranty. I suggest this setup to anyone who wishes to stay legal and maintain their warranty on 2011+ 6.7L Scorpion Ford diesel motors. I could not be more pleased. THANK YOU!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
1999.5 7.3 powerstroke manule
anthony (minot nd) 10/30/2011 6:10 AM
i bought my second diesel about 4months ago came with put exhaust and intake on it first day second day i had the truck put in the bull dog chip week later me being a hevey footed driver put the cluch out then i put a double disc single mass fly wheel in it works good now but iv hade it for about 4 months and the smoke is starting to go away i think the chip and running it hard all the time has started to wear out the motor only had the truck at 1600 degrees once and dont use extream becouse theres not much diffrence if anny and dont want to run to heard any more leave it on tow most the time ok product hope it hasnt ruind my motor
ratingratingratingratingrating
Never got it to work
Joe (TN) 7/27/2011 4:10 PM
I received this on a Wed and tried to install on Fri, but it froze up and I had to disconnect it and start over twice. After 7 hours(over 3 days) on the phone with Bully Dog and having to send it back to them once, I finally returned it and went with a different programmer.
ratingratingratingratingrating
2011 3500 mega
Joshua phillips (Rusk TX) 6/3/2011 1:13 AM
Just put my gt bully dog on with a aero turbine And a 7in tip. SO CRAZY. Way more power than my 2007 3500 5.9
ratingratingratingratingrating
2010 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 cummins
Seth (North Carolina) 5/31/2011 11:57 PM
Pros: Ease of install Huge power gains(have not done any towing yet) Noticed some improvement in fuel mileage (highway) Easy to find space to put monitor Cons: Huge power gains (hard to resist) Calibrate speedo for bigger tires? Where? Very happy so far.
ratingratingratingratingrating
7.3 STROKER
DIESELMAN (MINNESOTA) 5/18/2011 2:44 PM
One heck of a programmer replaced both my superchips 1705 and edge with monitor for just this programmer and it works great. my 99 f350 dually runs awesome and 22 mpg is just a benny
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good but bad
Cason (Texas) 5/10/2011 4:55 PM
I had this chip on my 05 3/4 ton cummins 6 speed it gave me tons of power and allot of smoke but running it in extreme and racing so much it caused some problems but only lost once
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect Size
Lightning (Yellowknife, NT) 5/7/2011 12:02 PM
You can tell the designers put thought into this one. It's small and organized. The display is easily read even when it's set to show as many parameters as possible. Lower power settings have worked excellent with my current modifications to give me the best fuel economy this truck has ever had. As for the Performance and Extreme settings......keep your headrest up! 2006 Dodge Ram 3500, 5.9L, AFE Stage II, CFM+, 5" MBRP Turbo-Back, Bully Dog TDGT, AirDog II, 35" Rubber.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect Size
Lightning (Yellowknife, NT) 5/7/2011 12:01 PM
You can tell the designers put thought into this one. It's small and organized. The display is easily read even when it's set to show as many parameters as possible. Lower power settings have worked excellent with my current modifications to give me the best fuel economy this truck has ever had. As for the Performance and Extreme settings......keep your headrest up! 2006 Dodge Ram 3500, 5.9L, AFE Stage II, CFM+, 5" MBRP Turbo-Back, Bully Dog TDGT, 35" Rubber.
ratingratingratingratingrating
2011 Chevy HD
Jimmy F. (California) 4/22/2011 11:52 AM
I put this tuner in a 2011 Chevy 2500 HD. I have not tried the extreme horsepower because I do not want to risk any damage to my truck. However, I was expecting some mileage improvement on the stock setting and am disappointed that I have not seen any improvement. Perhaps the engine runs a little bit smoother on the stock tune. The newer trucks have two built in pyros for exhaust temperatures which work great with the tuner. This programmer seems great as a monitor but that is about it. Don't expect any mileage increases what so ever. This tuner also allows you to adjust your speedometer for larger tires.
ratingratingratingratingrating
no power
matt (cali) 3/16/2011 12:58 PM
I put this in my 04 cummins 5 speed and got zero power I called bully dog they told me it wasn't made for my truck and I only get 30 hp on extreme its garbage you can't even tell. So I bought a $600 gage cluster. But other then no power its a good product.
page12