Banks Power Six-Gun Diesel Tuner w/ iQ-Dashboard PC

Banks Power Six-Gun Diesel Tuner w/ iQ-Dashboard PC

Powerstroke | Cummins | Duramax

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(248 Ratings, 15 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY
Dakota (Far nor cal) 7/19/2014 12:20 AM
IQ will split due to battery pack expansion! don't worry it probably wont happen until your year is up and you can no longer return it. Also I had a problem with it freezing up and having to restart it, the next issue was that the tuner was disabling my fuel so i couldn't start my truck. Once I unhooked all of that banks garbage my issues were resolved. Sorry for the bad news, I was stoked about my 6gun with IQ for quite some time until the issues started. Good luck
ratingratingratingratingrating
2005 RAM
Lance (Gainesville, FL) 9/5/2013 2:58 PM
good for towing and monitoring...lots of detail available. no noticeable change in mpg. does increase hp but not as much as i was expecting. the iq is amazing. will tell you anything you want to know. i was looking for speed and mpg
ratingratingratingratingrating
2005 RAM
Lance (Gainesville, FL) 9/5/2013 1:11 PM
good for towing and monitoring...lots of detail available. no noticeable change in mpg. does increase hp but not as much as i was expecting. the iq is amazing. will tell you anything you want to know. i was looking for speed and mpg
ratingratingratingratingrating
Wanna Race??
Damian L. (N. California) 1/1/2013 7:17 PM
The Banks 6-Gun system works great in my '04 Dodge Ram. I have an upgraded transmission, upgraded fuel pump and upgraded intake. My truck runs smooth as silk with no failures. Amazing product!
ratingratingratingratingrating
01 LB7
dieselhead (vt) 3/9/2012 7:38 PM
just installed it today and i am very impressed with everything it has to offer. if you want to wake up your LB7 this is it. very easy to install but i already put the manifold on the driver side pre drilled for EGT probe. it only took me about 2 hours to do it right and clean i didnt just throw it in. the power is all there and the IQ is just out of control, you can do everything. i recommend to everyone with the LB7 you wont be disapointed
ratingratingratingratingrating
Engineer
Clint (Iowa) 11/16/2011 12:55 AM
I agree with Charles. I installed my kit with the old PDA. It stopped showing reads and I blew my head gaskets. Repaired everything, replace PDA with a new one, it only lasted for several months. Ive had the kit on my truck for over six years and haven had any readings or settings on my 6-gun tunner for 4 of the six years. Im tired of buying them every year. That cost wasnt included in the price of the kit. I think Banks should at the very least cut us PDA guys a big break on the IQ up-grade. IQ's arent cheap but neither is the Plam E2 every year. It isnt safe or pratical to run a Hi-po kit on a deisel without guages, plus I have no idea what my settings are on, nor if Im running at safe #'s. Not all Banks fault but they should help up-grade to something that lasts if what they sold is not reliable. My truck is a stick so I had to jimmy-rig mine to mount to the floor. I didnt want to have my electronic device "stuck" to my window for every crook to see so I had to request a different mount, drill holes in my floor by the shifter and now it is just something for my kids to kick and it isnt even doing me any good cuz it doesnt even work. Love the extra power and gas mileage when it did work but Im not buying a new one every year so its basically worthless running blind.
ratingratingratingratingrating
i wouldn't Bank on it
charles (charleston) 9/6/2011 12:31 AM
Installed six gun PDA. The PDA had nothing but problems. Banks should give everyone a free IQ for all the headaches the PDA caused.But the PDA was only monitoring errors. The six gun caused the rest: Blown head gaskets, numerous injector failures, and a $4K transmission failure, and all this under 75K miles. It did increase the HP, could melt the tires, can't really blame Banks for all the BFGs I've burnt thru. This was all from level 6 and below. I never checked off the waiver for level 7. I did regularly get 600+ miles per fill up.
ratingratingratingratingrating
02 Chevy 2500 HD 6.6 Duramax
Bryan Feerer (Albuquerque, NM) 5/17/2011 5:27 PM
I just installed the 6 gun with the IQ into my 02 Chevy 2500 HD DUramax and am blown away as to the performance and amount of different programs and ammenities that the IQ offers. The install was very simple, the IQ was communicating almost instantly with he programmer and the EGT probe was simple enough seeing as how I had already installed the probe for the Edge Attitude. I had the Edge Attitude with juice and am convinced that edge was slowly trashing my tranny. Shift points with the Banks are crisp and strong but with the Edge the progremmer was having issues talking with the TCM, slipping the tranny and shifting at different intervals sometimes not utilizing 4 gear. Over all I am very happy with the Banks 6 gun with IQ and cannot wait to tow my trailer with this system. Thanks again Gale for a superior product.....
ratingratingratingratingrating
Banks SIx Gun
Zack c (Pooler. GA) 2/8/2011 10:48 PM
I have the banks six gun with the old style pda and i must admit it has been amazing for me. I've heard a lot of complaints, but no problems here. I have a 05 6.0. It has a 10 inch procomp lift and 40x15.50 yoko's. Thats a lot of truck, but she still scoots down the road like a sports car. I always run it on level 6 and i still average 10 mpg with all that power on top of those 40's and a 10 inch lift. So, like i said, im quite the satisfied customer. You cant buy something based on what may go wrong with it. From my personal point of view, this programmer is where it's at!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
IQ is great
Eric Onigkeit (cheyenne, WY) 6/15/2010 3:37 PM
I got the six gun with IQ mostly because of the display, and I must say it is very impresive, power is great (have a 06 powerstroke 6.0) I have read a ton of reveiws on this and more where bad than good but I have had no problems and have not had to deal with banks customer service yet. I would recomend this item for the display alone.
ratingratingratingratingrating
banks power tuner
Doug (Ne philly) 5/7/2010 1:33 PM
This item is awesome i like everything about it and the power it gives me and every little option it has that i can scroll threw, this is a great item to purchace im very happy with it. But when i needed tech help the people at the banks company sucked they will not help you so dont waste your time calling just call xdp they will help you the best they can and xdp is a great company and i will keep ordering from them and i recommend them to whoever it looking for performance parts.. thanks xdp for your support and the product
ratingratingratingratingrating
waste of $1100... Zero stars if i could
steve (ca) 4/13/2010 8:41 PM
so after seeing this thing in 100 diesel mags i figured i might as well try it out. WOW what a mistake, not only did the 1st and 2nd one i got not work but i couldn't even speak with Banks about the problems i was having. Literally they wouldn't even speak to me. I spoke with the tech at XDP and he tried to troubleshoot some things for me with zero luck. So after 3 months of shipping units back and forth XDP offered to switch me to something else. Thankfully the EDGE CTS that they put me into has been working great and is actually an easier install than the banks anyway. Thank you XDP... Banks no so much
ratingratingratingratingrating
six gun good, iq sucks
tyler (colorado) 3/23/2010 12:05 AM
xdp is a great company to buy from and work with, however the iq is a joke. first thing after install i changed the guages and they wouldnt change back then the iq wouldnt communicate with the truck. i called banks because naturally it is there product said they couldnt do anything about it and frankly acted like they didnt care they said that i had to go through xtreme diesel. xdp has taken good care of me. by the way the banks six gun is great just dont buy the iq untill the bugs are worked out of it. apparently they are having lots of software problems with it. my overall experience i dont think i will buy banks again but will def buy from xdp again.
ratingratingratingratingrating
my opinion
michael grassl (california) 3/8/2010 5:35 PM
I read a review on the banks 6 gun, I took a chance and bought one. I had someone drill and tap my exhaust, I did the rest of the work it took me 15 minutes and it was real easy, I followed the instructions. I got instant feedback from the IQ. I went through all 6 settings like it said. Setting ^ is crazy... I want to dyno my truck to see how much I have, 244 foot pounds.... I can feel it. I am a happy customer. If I had to buy it again I would in a heart beat. I am very happy.
ratingratingratingratingrating
owner
Kelly (central Wi.) 2/12/2010 11:14 PM
Purchased the banks 6 gun with iq, install not bad power ok but trying to hook up updates a joke can't get threw for 45 minutes,tell me Im not registered and did so 35 days ago,then told that a pc that I paid 1100 for can't updait my fuel milage have to send in my ecm to be flashed been working on diesals for 20 years from 2 cycles to 4 valves do it all starting to think banks is scam should have bought the bulldog.
page1