Silverline DS101409 4" Turbo-Back Exhaust System

1994-2002 Dodge 5.9L Cummins

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(15 Ratings, 9 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great system, especially for the price!
Dave L (Florida Panhandle) 12/18/2012 9:40 PM
First of all, picked up the system on sale... THANK YOU XDP!! Just based on the price it was a great buy for the stainless system. I am a very basic mechanic. Can turn nuts and bolts, oil changes, etc. By no means a "gear-head" or master mechanic. So I was a little concerned about installation when I bought the system. I should have never had any doubts!! The install was not a problem. This was done by myself, with no help, and no complications were encountered working on my back in my driveway. Total process took not much more than 2 - 2 1/2 hours. Between an impact wrench and a sawzall working to remove the old system was not hard. The most tricky part was the long reach to the turbo connection. A neighbor's 3 foot socket extension worked just fine on that. To install, it was straight-forward, with just a few detours and "bumps in the road." The tail pipe assembly seemed to have been forced out of round by an impact. A few wraps with a mallet and that issue was fixed. The truck was run only briefly to make sure no obvious rattles or leaks were present, and then I ran out of light. Being the '98.5 model Cummins, the engine is rather noisy anyway, so I don't hear too much of an increase from the pipes, but in the short run, it did sound a lot more impressive. Performance results have not been evaluated yet. My initial impression is extremely favorable. I will definitely post an update if there are any unexpected surprises. Since this included a very nice tip, for a great price, and as a newbie I was able to do this first time exhaust installation with no problems what-so-ever, I definitely recommend this product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Result after installation
Gerald Bilbrey (Choctaw, OK) 5/4/2012 10:07 PM
WOW, we all went to Little Sahara to 4 wheel after installing the 4" exhaust. I pulled our 27 ft. 5th wheel loaded to the max with all the goodies you have to have. It's 148 miles one way from our front door to the camping at Power Sports in Waynoka, OK. It's uphill; downhill; freeway; 2 way highway; up and down Oklahoma hills; cross winds to 40 mph; morons pulling out in front of you on hills doing 10 mph; and the cummins responded like the beast it is. Instant spool up and great acceleration, power was fantastic and I actually had good acceleration climbing hills and passing big rigs with no problems. We got 15 mpg on the trip, average. I'm so impressed with the gains for the minimum investment, thanks guy's. I recommend this exhaust system to anyone wanting to improve their trucks performance and economy.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Silverline 4 inch stainless steel exhaust install
Gerald Bilbrey (Choctaw, OK) 4/16/2012 4:13 PM
Received the Silverline 4" stainless steel exhaust system, small problem with weld at turbo adapter but was an easy fix and XDP took care of the situation above and beyond. The XDP customer service people were great. Could not believe how easy it was to install the system and the mounting brackets were a perfect fit. The unit went together in about 45 minutes and lined up perfectly. My cummins 5.9 sounds like an unchained beast now. Will gladly do business in the future with XDP, Thanks.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Sounds good
Robby Jordan (Ohio) 3/27/2011 10:28 AM
The exhaust sounds really good on my truck. The stainless has held up except on my tailpipe. After 2 months of driving, there is already lines of surface rust. I didn't expect it to last forever, but two months is not long enough. The stainless everywhere else still looks brand new
ratingratingratingratingrating
99 dodge 2500 5.9 Cummins
Matt (Ohio) 12/29/2010 8:16 PM
This is a nice system for the money,had it installed at local muffler shop owner said it a nice system and installation went better than he thought.Also XDP did nice job getting system sent out recieved it in a couple of days. thanks
ratingratingratingratingrating
Recommend this system to who ever wants a easy system to install:
Joseph Berthiaume (Lisbon, CT 06351) 10/7/2009 7:31 PM
I purchased this Silverline Stainless Steel 409 Single Exhaust System (Turbo-Back) Ds101409 from XDP on Oct. 5th, 2009. I never seen a exhaust system that so easy to install, all the hangers were perfectly matched for the mounts on my 1999 Dodge 3500 Ram truck. In just a little over 1 1/2 hours I was up and running. I would recommend XDP to anyone that needs a exhaust system. Thanks for a great time saving system XDP. Joe Berthiaume....
ratingratingratingratingrating
Dodge Ram 5.9 H.O. Cummins
Nathan (WI) 9/28/2008 11:20 PM
This is a pretty good exhaust system for the money, especially considering it is stainless steel! It fit pretty well on my truck, without a lot of work and without any modifications, but a couple of the exhaust hangers could have benefitted from a slight adjustment to fit the truck's rubber isolation mounts better, although it was not absolutely necessary. It's a pretty quiet exhaust for 4", with the muffler, but sounds slightly more aggressive then stock, from outside the cab. My muffler had a dent in it from shipping, which I could not remove, and some of the flared pipe ends were also bent (easily straightened out), but the system still went together nicely. My father also runs this exhaust and it's a nice set-up.
ratingratingratingratingrating
RETIRED
Barry (CANADA) 9/9/2008 7:11 PM
Great product it took about two hours to install great fit and the bracket modification on the back was no problem drilled two holes and installed rear bracket sounds great,Another plus was the power increase.Thanks Barry
ratingratingratingratingrating
Cummins Diesel Technician
Andy Hamilton (Richmond,VA) 9/6/2008 1:08 PM
I BOUGHT AND FITTED THIS SYSTEM ON MY '01 2500 DIESEL RAM 4X4 SEVERAL MONTHS AGO AND AM VERY PLEASED WITH IT. ONE OF MY FELLOW TECHS HELPED ME FIT IT ON A FRIDAY NIGHT AND NEITHER OF US HAD EVER SEEN AN EXHAUST SYSTEM FIT SO PERFECTLY AND EASILY,FROM PUTTING THE WHEEL LIFTS UNDER THE WHEELS TO DRIVING OUT THE SHOP TOOK 25 MINUTES TOTAL. ALL THE HANGERS AND BRACKETS WERE EXACTLY RIGHT,A VERY PLEASANT SURPRISE(ESPECIALLY ON A FRIDAY NIGHT). THE EXHAUST NOTE IS PRETTY SIMILAR TO STOCK AND CERTAINLY NOT DRONING OR ANNOYING AT ANY RPM. I WOULD NOT HESITATE TO RECCOMEND THIS SYSTEM TO ANYONE,ON QUALITY AND PRICE(THIS THING IS STAINLESS,REMEMBER!)AND FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE I AM THE FIRST ONE TO WRITE A REVIEW ON IT. THANKS SILVERLINE AND XDP FOR EXCELLENT SERVICE AND PRODUCTS.
page1