MBRP 5" Installer Series Cat-Back Exhaust System S6118AL

2004.5-2007 Dodge 5.9L Cummins

Product Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(31 Ratings, 18 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
MBRP 5" - 2001 Dodge 3500
Rob Bradley (Bremerton, WA) 10/16/2011 5:04 AM
Got the 5" exhaust installed with the help of a couple friends. Getting the old stock system off was the hardest, but this new MBRP system went on easy and sounds great. Box was torn upon delivery, almost like its too heavy for the way they pack it - only two of the pipes had minor dents in the ends, but easy fix.
ratingratingratingratingrating
diesel head
clayton (wisconsin) 8/14/2011 9:27 PM
sorry guys but what a crude piece of crap! like everyone else the box was torn open and all ends had to be hammered,even the bag with the clamps - one manifold bolt and one clamp missing.then the flange where it hooks up to the manifold was to large so i had to cut off the stock one and weld that on,then the length wasn't right for my reg cab so i had to cut another piece to make it fit,by this time I was really pissed!! earlier this year I bought a 4 inch t 304 stainless from MBRP and that was perfect in every way, but the sound was a bit mellow.OK now some good news the 5 inch sounds great and the 8 inch tip looks really cool but I'll never buy another one like this again.
ratingratingratingratingrating
06 mege cab
James (California) 12/23/2010 11:55 PM
Great buy! The sound is awesome a breeze to install little bit of a job removing the old system,but well worth the fight. This is my first upgrade of many and am well pleased with this product.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awsome
Justin (Chicago) 12/17/2010 9:17 AM
I cant believe how easy it was to install a 5" exhaust on my truck. I thought it would take all day, but was done in less than a hour, without a lift. Nice mandrel bends, great fit, sounds awsome. I couldnt be happier!
ratingratingratingratingrating
MEGA JOHNSON
MEGA JOHNSON (Great Falls, MT) 11/6/2010 3:59 PM
I love this thing, it sounds awesome. Its my first step in upgrading my rig. Just like everyone else almost all of the ends were bent, so I had to hammer them all to get them to fit. The only thing was when putting it on you need to make sure you take that very front hanger mount off to connect it to the turbo! I did not read the directions that well and it took me almost 3hrs just trying to get that together. Besides that if I would of read them right it would have only taken like 30 min to put it on. Now taking it off is a different story. I would suggest an air ratchet and air cutter to cut it off. It should only take an hour and a half if you have the right tools. Great exhaust though, I only heard good things about it and thats why I bought it. Again its just awesome! BUY IT NOW!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Fairly pleased
JR (NE Wyo) 10/12/2010 10:15 PM
For the most part I was pleased. When it arrived the box was torn and both ends of the muffler and the end of the downpipe were bent in. After getting them straightened out I got it in after about a half an hour with great ease and great fit. Sounds really great, fairly mellow but with an amazing rap to it when you drop the hammer. Other then the dents I couldn't be happier. either UPS or MBRP's packing people could do something there. And the 6 inch tips just compliments the whole thing.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Amazing
DeadliestDoug (MD) 7/2/2010 8:34 AM
I put it on my 98.5 and was nothing but happy with it. i did however have a dent in the end of the tail pipe. but other than that it went on easy. Of course the stock rusty exhaust was a pain to take off(hack saw) After a while i put stacks on... i miss the sound that this one makes. im putting this on my '03 im getting. WORTH THE MONEY!!! oh and i heard that the tip just completes it too.
ratingratingratingratingrating
a little overkill
hillbilly (kansas) 5/6/2010 6:51 PM
ordered it on the 3rd recieved it on the 6th really fast shipping...great system everything went together great...sounds like a semi when im grabbin gears...deff. livened it up a lot!!!(edge juice with attitude,airmax intake with k@n filter,dynomite diesel 150 injectors,fass 150gph,industrial injection hotrod vp44,southbend clutch)
ratingratingratingratingrating
5in
Tater (Madison) 12/24/2009 10:05 AM
it went together great on my 6.7 truck the hardest part is gettin the stock down pipe out it sounds like a jet about to take off when the exhaust brake is on
ratingratingratingratingrating
happy afterwards
Dean Sanback (Federal Way Washington) 11/24/2009 1:38 AM
When i first unpacked my system i was really pissed..all the ends of all the pipes were dented and out of round...careless handling by MBRP and UPS.So after i took my hammer and made everything round again i put it on. I was dissapointd cuz it says 5 inch turbo back.. Its really a 4 inch downpipe and 5 inch after that. but once i put it on level 5 and made it bark it was all worthwhile :)
ratingratingratingratingrating
Easy fit
mbogrand (Sequim Wa) 10/8/2009 9:30 PM
I read some of the other reviews and I didn't have any of the problems.Slipped this thing together easy.No problems installing the down tube,didn't take the spare off to put the tail pipe over the axle.Just cut the old exhaust out and slipped this one in. 2hrs(including going to rent a Sawzal) Sounds great and helped some,not as much as I hoped.(K&N big filter,no box,Banks intake)
ratingratingratingratingrating
5 inch exhaust
steve (pennsylvania) 7/17/2009 9:16 PM
down pipe is a pain. needed to take the elbow off the turbo and twist it a little, but you have to remove the small pins to be able to twist it. rest went together like a dream. sounds good, looks good, and lows egt's.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Sounds Great
Nick (Indiana) 7/16/2009 9:30 AM
Good product. Took 5 1/2 hours to install. Biggest pain was getting old exhaust off. All the hangers were where they need to be. Made my 05 2500 saund tough.
ratingratingratingratingrating
AMAZING!! Worth every dollar>!<!
Ed (lowellville, OH) 3/8/2009 9:30 PM
Wow!! This is relly good. I bought this same system from a friend of mine. It was the best thing I did!! My 01 cummins was like a completely different truck after I installed it. The only problems i had was the turbo-downpipe and the tail-pipe after the rear axel. I couldent get the tail-pipe to tighten down to the other peice. So i just heated it with the torches until it worked. But i have a stainles system tho. So it may be different for the aluminized. Other than that it was easy and fit together like it should. Had to remove the spare tire, but it fits rite back where it should.
ratingratingratingratingrating
THIS IS IT!!!!
Brandon (Oklahoma) 10/12/2008 6:57 AM
You can install it in youre driveway with basic hand tools.Verry high quality and all the parts fit like a glove. Im a 6speed truck so not really any trouble around the transmission. It was a little trickey at the downpipe to turbo and then over the axle.I had to drop the spare to get it in but after that the spare went back into place. The sound is exellent and seriously, get the tip. Its nasty...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Must Be the Right Product!
(Unknown) 7/11/2008 9:58 PM
I just installed the 5" turbo back today - what a monster difference in sound over stock! Had a little trouble connecting the downpipe from the turbo, had to take out the bushing for the first mount (from the transmission) then it fit like a glove. This is a really user friendly kit, good to install. Even more rewarding when you fire it up for the first time and take it out! Not too bad at idle or cruise, but if you get into it, from 1000 to 2000 RPMs and this thing will sing like a M35 Kaiser! Highly recommended kit, and XDP was fantastic to deal with - I received it a lot sooner than I thought I would!
ratingratingratingratingrating
BBBBwwwwaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous (Unknown) 3/16/2007 4:09 PM
Sounds like a MACK truck. got a good 2 mpg out of it. looks good with the big 6 inch tip too. I did seem to lose alittle on the low end but plan to and propane and bullydog programmer to fix that.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Very Nice
mneubert00 (Unknown) 1/3/2007 8:37 AM
Runs good, looks good, sounds good. Hardest part was taking off the stock muffler and tailpipe (had to get it cut off by a muffler shop). But overall very pleased with it and got a great deal from Xtreme Diesel. Resonates a little bit more in the cab, but I don't mind.
page1